Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Dalhart Junior High recognizes students with top honors

Posted by: tdt -

Dalhart Junior High recognizes students with top honors

By: Drew Stegall


Dalhart Junior High School conducted the end of the year awards ceremony Wednesday. Parents and teachers gathered to support the DJHS students and celebrate all of the hard work that they have put in over the semester.

“These students have put in a lot of work in one of the roughest seasons. They have performed excellently through a pandemic as well as an energy crisis,” Principle Maddox said.

The awards ceremonies split up the times based on grade level. The eighth grade started at 9 a.m. The seventh grade celebrated at 10 a.m. The sixth grade concluded the award ceremonies at 11 a.m. In between ceremonies, students were encouraged to take pictures with their friends and sign each other’s yearbooks.

This article will list awards based on grade level starting with the 8th grade and ending with the sixth grade.

The eighth grade A/B honor roll for the first through fifth six weeks includes the following: Braxton Akin, Alberto Briano-Alonso, Coltin Carnesecca, Lylianah Flores, Valerie Flores, Ayden Garcia, McKinlee Gordon, Raeleigh Hartman, Skye Hartman, Anahi Huaracha Chavez, Riley Hyer, Janae Jones-Ivery, Cole Kelso, Gisell Marquez Gonzalez, Petyon Miller, Mia Munoz, Berkley Ortez, Evelyn Quiroz, Corah Reese, Israel Vasquez, Lauren Welch, and Xavier Williams.

The eighth grade A honor roll includes: Elli Bezner, Ethan Boh, Emily Gaines, Karol Garcia, Teresa McDaniel, Kaleb Moore, Olivia Peavey, Kyler Read, Callie Ritchey, Ashley Veliz, and THKate Vermedahl.

The Modern Woodman History Award went to Riley Hyer. The Teacher’s Award went to Ashley Veliz. The Principal’s Award went to Berkley Ortez and Jaron Schriber.

The top five eighth grade students were Kyler Read, Kate Vermedahl, Emily Gaines, Ashley Veliz, and Olivia Peaver. The winner of the top eighth grader award was Emily Gaines. The eighth grade boy athlete of the year award went to Kyler Read. The eighth grade girl athlete of the year went to Evelyn Quiroz.

The seventh grade A/B honor roll for the first through fifth six weeks include the following students: Maddix Blanco, Maria Briano-Guevara, Arianna Chacon, Aaron Crane, Kevin Crane, Avi Day, Xavier Fernandez, Alejandro Flores, Brain Gonzalez Correa, Debany Goytia Munoz, Brett Haisten, Lauryn Heiskell, Erandi Hernandez Castaneda, Sydni Hyer, Reese Jenkins, Audra Jobe, Circe Johnson, Kammi Maddoz, Maggie Meeks, Jaylan Miller, Addison Ramirez, Alyssa Roper, Cash Schniederjan, Melanie Tascon Vera, Creed Taylor, Victoria Terrazas Jaquez, Hunter Trusler, and Antonio Vasquez.

The seventh grade A honor roll students includes Brandis Beavers, Kirsten Foust, Tristan Howe, Hailey Nolt, Kade Speer, and Joshua Walker.

The award for top seventh grader went to Hunter Trusler. The Teacher’s award went to Victoria Terrazas. The principal award went to Jaylan Miller and Brandis Beavers. The seventh grade athlete of the year awards went to Hunter Trusler and Kammi Maddoz.

The 6th grade A/B honor roll for the 1st - 5th six weeks include the following students: Roxanna Alvidrez, Daniela Arias, Aiden Buck, Addysin Carnesecca, Dayami Gonzalez Guerrero, Kash Grimsley, Logan Guetersloh, Eli Kelso, Kambry Kitchens, Jordan Mariscal, Troy Osborne, Hector Pairo, Joie Read, Jazmin Sanchez, Kaleb Speer, Lilian Terrazas Jaquez, Izayah Trujillo, Gracie Vermedahl.

The sixth grade A honor roll students include Michelle Garcia, Alden Hobbs, Cole James, Xavier Lusk, Mariana Mercado, and Amira Pena.

The Top Sixth Grader ward went to Cole James, The Teacher’s award went to Weatherby Saavedra. The Principal’s award went to Alden Hobbs and Daniela Arias.

The top sixth grade AR readers for the year are: Alden Hobbs (226 points), Amira Pena (218 points), Lauren Martin (204 points), Jorge De La Torre (165 points), Makayla DeMots (147 points), Clayton Peavey (134 points), Hector Pairo (125 points), Xavier Lusk (115 points), Maria Castro (114 points), Aiden Buck (105 points), Cole James (105 points), Eli Kelso (104 points), and Landyn White (102 points).



For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.