Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Newly-elected city officials take office

Posted by: tdt -

Newly-elected city officials take office

By Nicie Sanderson


Newly elected Dalhart City Council representatives took the oath of office in Tuesday evening’s council meeting. The results of the May 1 election were canvassed by a committee of Councilmen John Loeppke, Dwayne Smith and Parker Noel, and the results were declared by the full council. Ginger Cleavinger took the oath of office for Ward One of the council. She and former Councilman Rusty Hancock filed for election in February. Cleavinger was appointed to fill the remainder of Hancock’s term after he passed away in February, making her the only candidate on the ballot for this ward in the May 1 election for the new term. Ian Van Den Heever took the oath for Ward Two. He defeated incumbent  Brian Walton for election to the office. Councilman Bryan Brewer was unopposed for Ward Three, and he was sworn in for a new term Tuesday evening.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.