Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


GFWC/TFWC Top of Texas District elect two Life Members

Posted by: tdt -

Dalhart Contemporary Study Club members, Siny Brinkman and Liny Mellema, were elected Life Members of the GFWC/TFWC Top of Texas District April 25, 2009.

    The ladies were elected at the 2009 Spring Convention held at the Borger Country Club.

    Requirements to be a Life Member include the nomination by her club.  The nomination must include a resume that has a statement of a minimum of 15 years of continuous membership in a per capita club, including the year the nominee joined. Three or more positions were to be held under three District Presidents.  The District President and the date of the administration need to be included.  A list of meritorious service is required.

    Five letters of endorsement are to be submitted from District Board Members.

    Liny Mellema was nominated by Dalhart Contemporary Study Club on April 3, 2009.  Virginia Wedel, President, submitted the nomination.

    A member for 29 years in DCSC was involved in District activities.  Liny was chairman of Historical Places and Things with Top of Texas President Debbie Kruse in 2001 to 2002.  As chairman in the District, Liny would judge reports submitted by the clubs in the district.  Working with Presidents Lyndi Shadbolt and Betty Unlaub, Liny was chairman of Outreach for Children and GFWC Home Life Department Special Projects.  Liny continued with the Home Life Department and included Dollars and Sense during Ruby Tharp’s administration.  The TFWC Yearbook Cover Contest chairman is in the present administration of Barbara Dawkins.

    TFWC/DCSC valued Liny as the treasurer and Ways and Means Committee from 1998 until the present.  She has also worked with Conservation, Public Affairs and Home Life in the local club.

    Siny Brinkman was also elected April 3, 2009 to be a candidate to the Top of Texas Committee for Life Members nominated by DCSC.  

    Siny was chosen as the Outstanding Club Woman Volunteer for 2008 by her club members and also as Outstanding Volunteer by the Top of Texas District.

    She became a member of the Dalhart Contemporary Study Club in September, 1989.

    Offices held in club Corresponding Secretary, Public Affairs chairman, Vice President, International Affairs Chairman, Photographer and President.

    Lyndi Shadbolt was district president when Siny was GFWC International Affairs Department Special Projects Chairman.  Other district presidents Siny worked with were Betty Unlaub and Ruby Tharp.

    President Virginia Wedel took the steps to recommend Liny and Siny to the Top of Texas District Committee.

    The committee presented Liny Mellema and Siny Brinkman to the Spring Convention of Top of Texas, April 25, 2009.  The ladies were elected unanimously to be Life Members.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.