Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


XIT Rural Telephone to host 59th Annual Membership Meeting

Posted by: tdt -

    The XIT Rural Telephone Cooperative, Inc. has scheduled its 59th Annual Membership meeting of its rural landline telephone members for Wednesday, March 10th. The meeting will be held at the Rita Blanca Lake Coliseum. Rural landline members’ and invited guests’ registration will begin at ll:00 a.m. and will be followed with a luncheon catered by Bar H Steak House.   Again, this year, members and invited guests will be treated to a sit-down dinner served by XIT’s management and employees. Serving will begin at 11:45 a.m.
    Patronage Capital Credit checks will be handed out to members as they register. This refund will represent the remaining 93.9% of the 2000 allocation and 9.5% of the 2001 allocation. The checks will be given to qualifying members upon registration at the annual meeting.  Checks can only be given to the actual member or the authorized voting delegate for a business. A member does not have to be present at this meeting to receive this refund.  All checks, not given in person, will be mailed shortly after the meeting.
    The recipients of the 2010 XIT Rural Telephone Educational Program will be announced. This is the eleventh year that XIT has offered this program to at least five rural members’ graduating seniors.    The business session will begin at 1:00 p.m. with a welcome to the membership and an introduction of the guests by J.W. McClellan, President of the XIT Board of Directors.  The business meeting will conclude with the election of directors and the drawing of door prizes.
    This year, approximately $4,000 worth of door prizes will be given to attending members.  There will be six grand prizes awarded:  1 - $500 cash prize and 3 - $300 cash prizes and 2 - $100 cash prizes.  There will also be a kids’ drawing.  This is for members’ children or grandchildren who are 12 years or younger.  Members are reminded that they must be present to win.
     The purpose of the annual meeting is to elect directors for each district – to present for approval the reports for the previous fiscal year, and to transact such other business that might come before the meeting.
    According to the bylaws, a written notice will be mailed from the business office not less than ten nor more than twenty days before the meeting.  This notice was mailed to all active members of the Cooperative on February 26th.
    A quorum must be present in order for the business meeting to convene.  Based upon the total number of the Cooperative’s members, fifty members or two percent of the members present, whichever is larger, constitutes a quorum.
    The officers and board members are: J.W. McClellan, President, Walter E. Lasley, Vice President; Gary Finch, Secretary-Treasurer, James R. Wilson, E.H. Little, Floyd French, Kenneth Stanley, Steve Baskin and James Spurlock.
    On February  4, 2010, the Nominating Committee consisting of Carl French, Mark Schniederjan, Bonnie McKie, Wallace Bridwell, Allan Frerich, and A.E. Pronger, Jr. submitted nominations for three directorships. Allan Frerich was selected as chairman of the Nominating Committee. Nominations for the following districts were:  District I, Dallam County – J.W. McClellan; District II, Hartley County – Nick Olson, and District III, Sherman County – Gared McBryde. District II director, Kenneth Stanley and District III director, James Spurlock have elected to retire from the board.
Members vote only for nominees from the district in which they reside, or the district in which they have telephone service.  All members must be present at the annual meeting to vote since no proxy voting is permitted.  Either a husband or wife is eligible to vote at the annual meeting, but only one vote is allowed per membership. 
    XIT Rural Telephone needs constant input from its membership in order to provide the best possible service to its members. XIT rural landline members … mark your calendars and plan to attend your 59th Annual Meeting celebration and take an active part in the decision making of your Cooperative.   

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.