Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Republican Primary tomorrow

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

    Dallam and Hartley Counties are ready for Tuesday’s Republican Primary.  Three candidates in the Governor’s race hope to become the Republican choice for the November election.  Governor Rick Perry, Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison and Tea Party Activist Debra Medina have been campaigning heavily for months and in recent days, television commercials for Perry and Hutchison have run nearly non-stop.

    Closer to home, several incumbents and challengers will vie for local county offices.  In Dallam County, two offices are contested.  Incumbent Judge Rita Little and challenger Alicia Gomez Williams are in a race for Office of Dallam County Justice of the Peace.  Three candidates are hoping to be elected to the Office of the Dallam County Commissioners for Precinct two:  Corey Crabtree, David Moore and Ted Zieman.

    In Hartley County, only one contested office is on the ballot.  Robert “Butch” Owens and John C. Beckman are vying for Hartley County Commissioner for Precinct 4.  Many other incumbents from both counties are also on the ballot.  Hartley County unopposed incumbent candidates include Hartley County Judge Ronnie Gordon, Hartley County District and County Clerk Diane Thompson, Hartley County Treasurer Dinkie Parman, Hartley County Commissioner Precinct 2 Jim Hill and Hartley County Justice of the Peace Edwyna Womble.

    Dallam County unopposed incumbent candidates include Dallam County Judge David Field, Dallam County Treasurer Wes Ritchey and Dallam County District and County Clerk Terri Banks.  Two other offices with first time and unopposed candidates include Dallam County Commissioner Precinct 4 Floyd French and Dallam County Republican Party Chair Selene Schumacher.

    On Election Day, Dallam County voters will have two locations for voting.  Voters in Precincts 1 and 4 will vote at Texline City Hall.  Voters in Precincts 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 will vote at the Youth Center in Dalhart.  

    Election Day voting in Hartley County is conducted at three locations including the Hartley Community Building in Hartley for Precinct 101, Rita Blanca Coliseum in Dalhart for Precincts 102, 202, 301 and 401 and at the Hartley County Courthouse in Channing for Precinct 201.  Hartley County voters should have recently received a new “blue” voter registration card.  Voters should plan to bring their voter registration card and driver’s license or some other form of photo identification.

    All poling locations will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.  Direct questions about voting in Dallam County to Terri Banks, Dallam County Clerk at 244-4751.  Direct questions about voting in Hartley County to Diane Thompson, Hartley County Clerk at 235-3582.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.