Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


March election has many candidates

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

    Dallam and Hartley Counties are gearing up for elections in March.  Many seats are on the ballot, and a few are contested races.  Early voting begins on February 16th in both counties, and ends on February 26th.  The election is scheduled for March 2nd.

    Uncontested offices and candidates on the ballot for Dallam County are County Judge, with only incumbent David Field running; Dallam County District and County Clerk, with only incumbent Terri Banks running; County Treasurer, with only incumbent Wes Ritchey running; Republic Party Chair, with unopposed candidate Selene Schumacher running; and County Commissioner Precinct 4, with unopposed candidate Floyd French running.

    Contested races in Dallam County include County Commission Precinct 2, with three candidates vying for the position filled by retiring commissioner Oscar Przilas.  The candidates include Corey Crabtree, David Moore and Ted Zieman.  The office of the Justice of the Peace includes incumbent Judge Rita Little and challenger Alicia Williams.  

    Hartley County has several uncontested offices and candidates on the ballot including incumbent District Judge Ron Enns, incumbent County Judge Ronnie Gordon, incumbent Hartley County District and County Clerk Diane Thompson, incumbent County Treasurer Dinkie Parman, incumbent County Commissioner Precinct 2 Jim Hill and incumbent Justice of the Peace Judge Edwyna Womble.

    Only one race is contested in this year’s election for Hartley County.  County Commissioner Precinct 4 has two opponents, incumbent Robert “Butch” Owens and challenger John C. Beckman.  The March election is the Republican Primary.  No Democratic Primary will be held this year.  

    Early voting in Dallam County may be achieved at the Dallam County Courthouse, Office of the Dallam County Clerk between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on weekdays beginning February 16th through February 26th.  

    On Election Day, Dallam County voters will have two locations for voting.  Voters in Precincts 1 and 4 will vote at Texline City Hall.  Voters in Precincts 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 will vote at the Youth Center in Dalhart.  

    Applications for ballot by mail should be mailed to Terri Banks, Dallam County Clerk, P.O. Box 1352, Dalhart, Texas 79022 and must be received by the Clerk’s Office no later than the close of business on February 23rd.   

    To vote early in Hartley County voters have two choices.  In Dalhart voters may vote early at 701 Texas Blvd. beginning Tuesday, February 16th from 8:30 a.m. to noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.  In Channing, voters may vote at the Courthouse beginning at 8:00 a.m. to noon and from 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., except Fridays when the poll will close at 3:30 p.m.  

    Election Day voting in Hartley County is conducted at three locations including the Hartley Community Building in Hartley for Precinct 101, Rita Blanca Coliseum in Dalhart for Precincts 102, 202, 301 and 401 and at the Hartley County Courthouse in Channing for Precinct 201.  Hartley County voters should have recently received a new “blue” voter registration card.  Voters should plan to bring their voter registration card and driver’s license or some other form of photo identification.

    All poling locations will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.  Direct questions about voting in Dallam County to Terri Banks, Dallam County Clerk, at 244-4751.  Direct questions about voting in Hartley County to Diane Thompson, Hartley County Clerk, at 235-3582.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.