Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Dalhart wins Jr. High UIL Academic Contest

Posted by: tdt -

    As the sun was setting across the Panhandle, the victory cry for 107 Jr. High academic challengers was, “We Won!”  One hundred and seven Jr. High students traveled anxiously to Frank Phillips College in Borger to represent Dalhart in the District 1-AAA UIL Jr. High Academic Contest on Friday, November 6, 2009.  Participants got off their buses with teeth gritted for they knew they were about to face approximately 300 junior high students from Borger and Perryton to defend their academic title.  Many hours were devoted to practice and competition by both students and teachers to ensure Dalhart was valiantly represented.  Congratulations to all!  

On Saturday, November 7, the drama teams from Dalhart and Perryton performed their One-Act Plays at the Dalhart High School.  Under the direction of Mrs. Kathryn Bassett and Mrs. Nina Mason, the Dalhart drama team performed “Oh, What a Tangled Web”, by John R. Carroll.  Once again, Dalhart was valiantly represented.  

    UIL Academic Competition is held in schools across the state.  The contests are designed to provide a foundation for skills and experiences that students can use later in life.  Mr. John Machel, the Dalhart Jr. High Principal, and Mrs. Connie Wilmer, the DJHS UIL Coordinator would like to commend all participants and coaches for their outstanding efforts and a job well done.  Final place and totals from the meet were as follows:

    1st Place Dalhart with 799.5 points, 2nd Place Borger with 665 points, 3rd Place Perryton with 523.5 points.  

    Music Memory -Connie Wilmer (coach) Josef Baumet 1st, Connor Holiski 3rd, Adrianna Seeley 4th, Team Winners 1stPlace

    Calculator -Debra Ford (coach) 6th Grade Whitney Dovel 1st, Joaquin Perez 2nd, Mattie Stilwell 5th, 7th Grade Shianne Chisum 1st, Sara Smith 2nd, 8th Grade Ben Allen 1st, Santos Rodriguez 2nd, Greyson Jones 5th

    Number Sense -April Carson 6th Grade Charlie Rowell 1st, Nick Martinez 3rd, Garrett Moore 6th, 7th Grade Isabel Robles 5th, Sara Smith 6th, 8th Grade Quentin Romero 1st, Mikayla Haschke 5th   

    Impromptu Speaking – Becky Quint (coach) 7th Grade Blanca Diaz 4th, 8th Grade Bernice Anaya 4th, Marissa Salas 5th

    Science I  Shianne Chisum 2nd, Waylon Bucher 3rd, Cole Groen 5th

    Science II – Stefanie Clark (coach) Tyler Dickson 4th, Erika Davis 6th

    Spelling – Laura Taylor (coach) 6th Grade Mattie Stilwell 1st, Taylor Simpson 5th, 7th Grade Reese Montgomery 4th, Cole Ferguson 5th, Nathan Ham 6th, 8th Grade Lea Baumert 2nd, Mary Belgira 4th

    Listening Skills – Shad Maness (coach) 6th Grade Flor Arroyo 3rd, Galen Valdez 5th, 7th Grade Cy Fuentes 1st, Orin Atha 5th, 8th Grade Keaton Stengel 1st, Alex DeJong 3rd

Mathematics – Michelle Montoya (Coach) 6th Grade Whitney Dovel 1st, Connor Holiski 3rd, 7th Grade Matt Truijillo 1st, Leah Nelson 2nd, Charlie Gallegos 4th, 8th Grade Quentin Romero 1st, Joshua Dufur 3rd, Fabian Bencomo 6th

    Maps, Charts, & Graphs – Robin Jones (coach) 6th Grade Whitney Dovel 2nd, Foster Conner 3rd, Anna Kroeker 4th, 7th Grade Leah Nelson 1st, Juan Figueroa 2nd, Sibbie Priestly 5th, 8th Grade Dustin Vance 4th, Jackson Cearley 6th

    Dictionary Skills – Ruth Beller (coach) 6th Grade Taylor Simpson 1st, Cassie Borunda 2nd, Sley Brand 3rd, 7th Grade Abbie Banks 2nd, Courtney White 3rd, Alexa Wheeler 5th, 8th Grade Karen Lozano 3rd, Marissa Salas 4th, Ben Howell 5th

    Oral Reading – Margaret Elliott (coach) 6th Grade Robin Elliott 1st, Kaitlyn Ploog 4th, Sabrah Howell 6th, 7th Grade Olivia Elliott 4th, 8th  Grade Brit Wilson 2nd, Emilee White 5th, Bailey Clements 6th

    Ready Writing – Terry Ford (coach) 6th Grade Danielle McMillen 5th, Sammantha Todd 6th, 7th Grade Gerret Boer 4th, 8th Grade Alex DeJong 1st, Emilee White 4th, Bailey Clements 6th

    Modern Oratory – Allison White (coach) 7th Grade Kayla Banks 2nd, Sibbie Priestly 4th, Isabel Velarde 5th, 8th Grade Kyler Winnings 1st

    One- Act Play – Kathryn Bassett (coach) 2nd Place Best Actress : Robyn – Elan- Puttick, All Star Cast : Emilee White, Honorable Mention: Ben Allen, Josh Dufur, Technical Support : Haley Hester 

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.