Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Golden Wolves All-District Honors

Posted by: tdt -

By Rodney White

The Golden Wolves continue to reap the rewards from a great season of hard work with the announcement of the All-District team awards.  These awards are not only a tribute to the young men and the team that they played for, but also the coaches and  parents that helped develop these young men into successful athletes.  Coach Young had this to say about the team, “We felt like we had a great year, and we’re very proud of our young athletes. They made the playoffs four years in a row. That has never been done in Dalhart.  A goal is a dream with a date attached to it.  Our goal was to make the playoffs four years in a row here in Dalhart, and this was accomplished on November 6, 2009, when we beat Perryton for the third year in a row.  This is something they can remember for a lifetime.”  

    One of the great things to notice about the awards is there are several young players that will be coming back next year to provide the nucleus for another strong team.    As usual, this team is strong on great defensive players.  Coach Young has had the Defensive MVP in the district every year since he has been in Dalhart.  This year is no exception, instead of a linebacker, however, this year’s award went to Harper Scofield who played the defensive end position.  Congratulations to all the great players from Dalhart who received these honors, and also to the rest of the team that was not recognized, but still helped contribute to another successful season.

2009 Dalhart All-District Football Nominations

1st Team All-District Offense: Adrian Ruiz – Running Back; Ashton Read – Offensive Line – Guard; Harper Scofield – Tight End; Thomas Allen – Wide Receiver; Zin Zan Puttick – Kicker. 2nd Team All-District Offense: Davonte Burks – Running Back; Dusty Stapleton – Offensive Line – Guard; Juan Delgado – Offensive Line – Tackle. Honorable Mention All-District Offense: Noah Jesko – Quarterback; Gary Silacci – Offensive Line – Tackle; Cameron Ford – Offensive Line – Center; Kaleb Grant – Wide Receiver. Defensive MVP: Harper Scofield – Defensive End. 1st Team All-District Defense: Kaleb Grant – Secondary; Adrian Ruiz – Outside Linebacker; JD Abla – Linebacker; Rey Lujan – Defensive End; Saul Barron – Defensive Tackle; Thomas Allen – Punter. Honorable Mention All-District Defense: Davonte Burks – Secondary; Tyler Smith – Linebacker; John Peoples – Defensive Tackle.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.