Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


All-District Volleyball awards

Posted by: tdt -

By Rodney White

    The district champion Dalhart Lady Wolves continue to bring in honors.  The Lady Wolves took two of the top honors on the all-district squad.  Shelby Wilt, a junior, received the district MVP award.  Coach Satterfield said, “This is the second year in a row that this young lady has received this award.  She makes our offense run smoothly and seamlessly.  She has led the team in digs and service aces also.  This is her third year on the All-District team.”  Marlee Reynolds received the Offensive Player of the Year award.  Coach Satterfield said, “Marlee is the most dominating hitter in our district and one of the best in class 3A.  This is her third year on the All-District team.”  If Marlee wasn’t injured, there is no telling what she would have accomplished.

    Other awards went to Katelyn Albers who was the most consistent hitter down the stretch for the Lady Wolves.  Katelyn was first team all-district.  Coach Satterfield had this to say about Katelyn, “She was an all-around force on the court.  She helped out tremendously on defense and serving.  This is the second year in a row that she made first team.”  The other first team honor went to Mallory Jeffers.  Coach Satterfield said, “She is the vocal leader, and kept other teams off balance with a combination of quick hits and tips.”  This is Mallory’s third year on the all-district team.

    Second Team honors went to Sarah Cover, a junior.  Her coach said, “She surprised a lot of teams with her ability to hit the open spot.  She became a force at the net on defense too.”  The other honoree was Abbie Steele, also a junior.  Coach Satterfield had this to say about Abbie, “She added strength to an already good block.  She surprised herself by becoming a weapon on offense.  She was recognized by other coaches as a threat on our right side.

    Honorable Mention went to Kelly Simpson, senior; Riley Dunham, senior; and Brynn Dunham, sophomore.  Coach Satterfield said, “Our defensive players were overlooked because of the overwhelming success on offense.  We could not have had the success we did this year without their consistent play on the back row. “The Lady Wolves have also received the following awards this season with more yet to come.  Marlee Reynolds was the Amarillo Chamber of Commerce Small School High School Player of the Month for October.  Shelby Wilt was the MaxPreps/American Volleyball Coaches Association, Texas Player of the Week for November 8-15, 2009.

    One award that Coach Satterfield is particularly proud of is the Academic All-District team.  This award included all of the seniors on the team, Katelyn Albers, Riley Dunham, Mallory Jeffers, Molly Moore, Marlee Reynolds, and Kelly Simpson.

    Other awards went to Defensive Player of the Year, Hannah Limmer, sophomore, Cooper; Outstanding setter, Jaemi Groves, senior, Borger; Newcomer of the Year, Katelyn Stewart, freshman, Cooper.  The rest of the first team included: J’Cee Pool and Emma Boren from Borger; Ruby Johnson and Brittany Ruble from Cooper; LaShondra Ray from Estacado; and Celia Martin from Perryton.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.