Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


DISD board makes nominations to appraisal district boards

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

    The Dalhart Independent School Board met Tuesday evening, October 20th.  A topic of particular importance was the nomination of candidates to both the Dallam and Hartley County appraisal districts board.  The school board trustees have been discussing the nomination for several months and unanimously made their choices at the meeting.

    The board nominated Peter Baumert and Wes Ritchey to the Dallam County Appraisal District Board of Directors for the 2010 – 2011 term and Dean Graham and Gene Rahll to the Hartley County Appraisal District Board of Directors for the 2010 – 2011 term.  The board also nominated     David Spinhirne for the current vacancy on the Hartley County Appraisal District Board of Directors.  Ritchey is the Treasurer at the Dallam County Courthouse, Baumert is a long-term employee of PSF, Graham owns G&G Operators and Rahll is a former mayor of Dalhart for nearly 20 years.  

    Each board member gave a brief presentation regarding their recent trip to Houston at the TASA/TASB Convention.  DISD Superintendent David Foote gave an updated report on the Superintendent Goals and the status of each goal.  The board unanimously approved the FIRST Rating (Financial Integrity Rating System of Texas).

    The board was informed that DISD has been in touch with Jon King’s office to get an update on the status of the title application for the mobile home that was purchased in May 2009.   The consent agenda was approved unanimously.  Two resignations were tendered to the district and included Seth Hayden and Dillon Mitchell.

    Present at Tuesday’s meeting were President Jeff Lloyd, board trustees Doug Claborn, Misty Mellema, Gary Schniederjan, Randy Sherrill, DISD Superintendent David Foote, Business Manager Delbert Dodds, High School Principal David Steele, Junior High School Principal John Machel, and XIT Principal Carolyn Field.  Board trustees Rick Dunham and Russell Routon were not in attendance. 

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.