Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Schafer honored with statewide EMS award

Posted by: tdt -

The Dalhart Texan

Tim Schafer is the state's EMS Responder of the Year. Schafer, of the Hartley EMS, was given the award at the annual convention of the Texas State Firefighters and Fire Marshals' Association (SFFMA) held in Longview. The organization represents more than 20,000 member in over 1,200 fire departments and EMS organizations statewide. 

Schafer joined the department in 2006 and became an EMT later that same year. In 2008, he became an EMT-Intermediate, and has to served as an EMT-Paramedic since 2012. 

He served on the Hartley Fire Department through 2018 and also served a turn as fire captain.

In 2017 and again in 2018, Schafer was named as the Hartley Fire and EMS' EMS Responder of the Year. After the 2018 recognition, he was nomiated for the Panhandle Firefighter and Fire Marshal's EMS Responder of the Year award. 

In receiving the award, Schafer joins Hartley Fire Chief Scott White, EMT-I as an SFFMA EMS Responder of the Year. Scott was named as recipient of the same award in 2017. In addition, Hartley EMS' Paramedic, DeNisa Brown was named as the 2015 recipient of the Panhandle award. This means that Hartley Fire & EMS has three current resonders who have been rewarded the Panhandle's EMS Responder of the Yea and two that received the state reward. 


For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.