Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


2009 Hartley County 4-H Achievement Banquet

Posted by: tdt -



    The Hartley County 4-H Achievement Banquet was held on Friday, August the 28th, at the Rita Blanca Coliseum. Kids from all over Hartley County attended the 80’s themed achievement banquet and lock-in. The members, and even adults, dressed up to the past and awards were given for the best 80’s costume. Kristen Schniederjan was voted best dressed followed by Bailey Been, and Breeley Elliott.

    The guests enjoyed a wonderful meal brought by the Channing 4-H club, sat back, and relaxed as awards were handed out to very deserving kids.

    The Recordbook award goes to kids that wrote and completed a recordbook, a book telling of what their previous 4-H year held, and giving descriptive charts of the progression of their projects. 4-Hers that received this award was Breanna Hall, Brayden Been, and Bailey Been in public speaking, Danae Parman and Emma Browning in rabbits, and Johnathon Hall in science and technology.

    The Danforth Award is a nationally recognized award that goes to kids that go above and beyond the call of duty to do what needs to be done; this year’s award went to Danae Parman of Channing. Congratulations on an outstanding job!

    Each year, Hartley County is allowed to hand out 2 Gold Star Awards. This award is the highest award given on the county level and comes with a $500 scholarship. This year’s award recipients are Danae Parman, and Johnathon Hall of Channing.

    Rookie of the Year is handed out to first year 4-Hers that are attentive and show interest in the projects they compete in. The Rookie of the Year award winner for Hartley was Susan Brugman (not pictured), and from Channing, Chance Davis.

    Each year, the 4-H clubs hand out prizes for the points systems the kids keep track of. Points are collected by attending meetings, completing recordbooks, competing in competitions, and a variety or other ways. The points winners for this year were Rebekah Van Dijk, Esther Van Dijk, Breanna Hall, Brayden Been, Breeley Elliott, Jack Clark, Taylor Simpson, Kristen Schniederjan, Caitlyn Skalsky, Levi Woody, Savannah West, Bailey Been, Leslie Batenhorst, Deborah Van Dijk, and Ashley Skalsky.

    The Friend of 4-H goes to businesses or individuals that do more than asked of them and are happy to help in whatever way they can. The awards went to Jay and Stephanie West of Channing and Hartley Capital Farm Credit of Dalhart. Thank you both for all you do!

    The lock-in followed the banquet and kids and adults stayed to compete in competitions, attend workshops, and dance to the beat of the 80’s drum. The lock-in lasted all night as the 4-H members partied hardy.

    The achievement banquet was a success and the lock-in a night many kids, and adults, will never forget.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.