Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Employees introduced at school board meeting

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

    The Board of Trustees held a regular meeting on Tuesday, September 15th.  The meeting began with the introduction of new personnel, and personnel who are not new, but in new positions within the district.  All principals for the district were in attendance to personally introduce those new employees that were able to attend and who work at their schools.  The largest group of new personnel is employed at Dalhart Elementary School.   After the introductions the board took a brief break to allow the board members to meet the new DISD  personnel.

    An item of interest on the agenda Tuesday evening was a request by Hilmar Cheese for a continuation of the abatement of DISD school taxes.  David Ahlem, General Manager of Hilmar Cheese, addressed the board and discussed the upcoming expansion of the company.  Board President, Jeff Lloyd, noted, “I agree that the relationship between Hilmar and the district has been a very good one and a beneficial one for everyone.”  Ahlem has worked closely with the district to foster open communication between the two entities.  He commented that many new and exciting things will be going on at the plant that will continue to benefit the community.

    On October 1st through the 4th, the board members, Superintendent David Foote, Business Manager Delbert Dodds and High School Principal David Steele will travel to Houston for a school board convention.  The annual convention allows administrators and board members to gain invaluable knowledge from their colleagues as well as to discover new or different methods that may be implemented in a variety of areas within their own districts.

    The board discussed the upcoming goals of Superintendent Foote.  The board regularly discusses goals and also conducts goal setting meetings to ensure the district stays abreast of any issue that must be addressed or task to be completed.  The board unanimously affirmed the consent agenda.

    The board entered into a closed session to discuss the final issues on the agenda.  Present at the meeting were Board President, Jeff Lloyd, board members Russell Routon, Doug Claborn, Randy Sherrill, Misty Mellema and Gary Schniederjan.  Also present were DHS Principal David Steele, DJHS Principal John Machel, DIS Principal Mark McCormick, DES Principal Karen Taft and XIT Principal Carolyn Field.  

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.