Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Hartley firefighters host annual fundraiser

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

    Members of the Hartley Fire Department and EMS held their annual fundraising cookout on Saturday, August 29th.  The event that began at 6:00 p.m. brought out approximately 300 people who enjoyed the meal and visiting with friends and family.

    Hartley Fire Chief Scott White stated, “We cooked for about 300 people.  We went through a lot of burgers!”  The number of guests proved the event very successful.  The firefighters and EMS paramedics and their families cooked hamburgers and hotdogs and women in the Mennonite community made desserts that Dallam and Hartley County residents always look forward to devouring. 

    This year’s cookout had a larger number of visitors, according to Chief White, than in recent years.  Along with the wonderful desserts and homemade ice cream was the highly anticipated raffle of a firemen’s quilt.  The quilt was beautifully made by Terri Kemp from Sew-It-Seams in Dalhart.  The quilt was won this year by Dalhart Texan’s own Robin Scott.

    The community center in Hartley was the perfect location for the Saturday afternoon cookout.  The cooler weather coming in from the West added to the guests’ enjoyment.  Of particular interest was the show of support from members of the Dalhart Fire Department and EMS who attended the event and spent some time with their Hartley Fire Department and EMS counterparts. 

    Although the Hartley Fire Department only hosts the fundraising cookout once a year, donations are needed continually.  The firefighters are volunteers, so donations are utilized for training and equipment.  Anyone desiring to make a donation to the Hartley Fire Department may forward them to P. O. Box 32, Hartley, Texas 79044 or give the donation to any member of the Fire Department or EMS.  The Hartley Fire Department is comprised of 15 firefighters and 10 paramedics.

    Members of the Hartley Fire Department are Chief Scott White, Assistant Chief Scott Ford, Secretary/Treasurer Tim Schafer, Captain Billy Vasquez, Captain Jeromie Jones, Captain Chris Joens, Bryan McCauley, Steve Yeager, Mark Ensz, Clifton Miller, Brandt Brown, Mitchell Fowler, Travis

Unruh, Josh Albers, Jeremy Brubacher. Members of the Hartley EMS are Barbara Thompson, Scott White, Tim Schafer, Jeremy Brubacher, Carol Ford, Steve Yeager, Chris Joens Brandy Brown and Loyd Hall.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.