Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Thomas Wins Mayor Job

Posted by: tdt -

Moore & Claborn on School Board


Dalhart voters gave an enthusiastic stamp of approval to Kurtis Thomas as the next Mayor of Dalhart. Thomas, a city councilman since 2010, garnered 465 votes. Gene Rahll received 243 votes and Tammi Kate Ledford received 60 votes.
Incumbent Lola Barrow won reelection handily with 576 votes to 127 votes for challenger Johnnie Bates. Councilwoman Barrow represents Ward 1 in Dalhart. She has worked very industriously on getting streets paved in the city.
Kurtis Thomas is interested in providing more retail businesses in Dalhart. As a councilman, he headed a committee to reform how the hotel occupancy tax is distributed. One of the recommendations of this committee is to spend a portion of the occupancy tax on a study to examine ways the city can attract more retail businesses. He has also been working with the Texas Department of Transportation on a solution to Dalhart’s low clearance underpass on Highway 87 to enhance travel on the major roadway.
In the Dalhart Independent School District Board of Trustees race, Justin Moore and Doug Claborn won the two available places, with 365 and 307 votes, respectively. Other candidates and their vote totals were: Rick Dunham, 288; Mark McKay, 219; and Brandy Miller, 142.
There were 401 early voting votes cast and 363 Election Day votes cast in the school board election.

As a courtesy to the community the Dalhart Texan is providing the full, un-cut story on the elections online.  For future stories please SUBSCRIBE to the e-edition of The Dalhart Texan, call 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient newsrack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.