Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


Election results net new blood for Commissioners

Posted by: tdt -


Dallam County General Election results for the County Commissioners race Precinct 1 puts new blood, fresh ideas and a new face on the board. Carl McCarty, Republican,   defeated 12 year veteran Democratic incumbent Glenn Reagan, 297 votes to 133 respectively.
“I want to make sure we (Dallam County) receive a dollar’s worth of value for every dollar spent,” stated McCarty. McCarty ran on a platform of honesty and integrity. “I was proud of the voter turn out in Dallam County,” McCarty added. The newly elected Commissioner will be sworn in to office in January.
The Special Election for the North Plains Groundwater Conservation District which came into to question during early voting for voter fraud had a total of 151 voters cast ballots in Priority Groundwater Management Area (PGMA) areas A, B, and C. Approximately two years ago voters said no to the questions placed on the ballot regarding groundwater management and again on Tuesday, November 6, 126 of the votes cast were against the question placed on the ballot.  
Chad Hicks will also take office in January as Hartley County’s newest County Commissioner, Precinct 3. Hick’s defeated Michael Breitling 367 votes to Breitling’s 163 votes.

For the full story  SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient newsrack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.