Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


2009-2010 School Board sworn in

Posted by: tdt -

By Robin Scott

The Dalhart Independent School Board held a regular meeting on Tuesday evening, May 19th at 7:00 p.m.  The meeting was called to order by board President Jeff Lloyd.  All items on the agenda were held in open session.   

    The results of the election held May 9th were canvassed and certified and the oath of office was administered to re-elected board trustee Gary Schniederjan and newly elected board trustee Doug Claborn.  Gary Schniederjan has served on the DISD board for seven years.  He began by stepping into an un-expired one-year term, then he was elected, and reelected for the following two terms.  Gary and his wife, Tammy, are owners of the GT Express located on Liberal Street.  They are the parents of Colby, who is a junior at Wayland Baptist University in Plainview; daughter, Callie, graduates from Dalhart High School this month and will attend West Texas A & M University on a basketball scholarship this fall; Noah, their youngest son, will be a sophomore this coming school year at DHS.

    Doug Claborn is the owner of Claborn Heating & Air.  He was raised in Dalhart and graduated from Dalhart High School in 1983.  Doug and his wife, Kathy, have three children.  All of their children attend school in Dalhart, except for Meagan, who has already graduated and is studying veterinary medicine in Denver.  Outgoing board trustee Mark Hanbury received an award for his many years of service as a board trustee and past board president.  The board expressed their sadness at his absence in the upcoming year and their gratitude for the exceptional service he provided to the Dalhart Independent School District over the past several years.

    The board took time to recognize several students from the Golden Wolves Band.  Ms. Hutchison introduced the students and named their accomplishments, including:  Clarinet Quartet Brittney Barrow on bass clarinet, Ashley Blea, DeAndra Rodriguez and Leigh Dixon on clarinet; Saxophone Quartet Kimberly Russell, Kip Frates, and Antonio Ottaviani on alto sax and Jarrett Hand on baritone sax; Soloists Ashley Blea clarinet,

Jarrett Hand baritone saxophone, Mitchell McMurry cornet, Chris Diller percussion, Leigh Dixon clarinet, Jennifer Bundy clarinet, Bethany Thomas percussion, and Kaci Frates percussion.  Ms. Hutchison stated that the students have earned their way to the solo ensemble and they will attend a competition on June 1st.  

    The board unanimously approved all items on the agenda requiring a vote.  Items of significant interest included the purchase of land and buildings and closing is imminent. Attorney Jon King provided information to the board on a short delay in closing which saved all parties money in the end.  A discussion regarding the Superintendent’s goals centered on those that are expected to be fulfilled within the next two weeks.

    The board heard and considered applications for resignation, retirement and extended leave of several DISD employees.  All were approved.  They included one request for six-day extended leave and three resignations, including Carrie Lisenbe, Renvy Smith and Mindy Pfannstiel.    

    Board members present were President Jeff Lloyd, Rick Dunham, outgoing Vice President Mark Handbury, Misty Mellema, Russell Routon, Gary Schniederjan, Randy Sherrill, newly elected Doug Claborn, DISD Superintendent David Foote, and Business Manager Delbert Dodds.

    The principals and assistant principals in attendance were High School Assistant Principal Denise Hutchinson with twelve members of the Golden Wolves Band, Intermediate School Principal Mark McCormick and XIT School Principal Carolyn Field.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.