Click for the latest Dalhart weather forecast.


DHS students receive awards

Posted by: tdt -



By Robin Scott

    Students attending Dalhart High School were honored on Tuesday, May 12th.  Many students participated in UIL competitions during the 2008/09 school year and the awards ceremony honored those who participated and those who placed during the various competitions.  

    The categories and honors received included the following:  Ky Smith and Stephen Loftin each received an honorable mention all star case for One Act Play; Jasmine Bohlender, Kaci Frates, Corlee Priestly, Kelly Simpson and Holly Vogel were regional academic UIL qualifiers, with Jasmine Bohlender advancing to the state competition; Nicholas Turner for L.D. Debate; Nicholas Turner, Collin Oelkers, Chris Diller, Thomas Allen and Bethany Thomas for social studies with Nicholas Turner advancing to the state competition; Nicholas Turner for Current Issues and Events.

    Small Schools Academic Competition with all teams advancing to state and tying for sixth place.   Second place team Nicholas Turner, Anna Batteiger and Devin Shirar, third place team Jarrett Hand, Collin Oelkers and Chantel Vogel, fifth place team Chris Diller and Skilar Brown.

    Regional Visual Arts gold medalist was Cheyenne Black.  Jesus Cuellar receiving two gold medals, Roy Pena receiving two gold medals, gold medalist Jacob Wadlington, and Tencia Zavala and silver medalist Brooklyn Thomas.

    State VASE bronze was awarded to Jesus Cuellar.  The Drexel University Merit Award was awarded to Roy Pena.  The National Honor Society Girl was awarded to Whitney Salas and the National Honor Society Boy was awarded to Justin Ogle.

    The U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar Girl was Callie Schniederjan and Boy was John Quint.  The National Merit Scholarship Program award went to Jasmine Bohlender and Nicholas Turner. 

    UIL Scholar Awards went to Jasmine Bohlender, Corlee Priestly, Kaci Frates, Nicholas Turner, Treanne Turner, Matt Mellema, Flynn Milam, Andrew Jones, John Quint and Chelsea White.

    The Highest GPA awards included Freshman Reid Priestly, Sophomore Jordan Banks, Junior Thomas Allen and Senior Jasmine Bohlender.  The Top Five Seniors included Treanne Turner, Nicholas Turner, Kaci Frates, Corlee Priestly and Jasmine Bohlender.  Valedictorian was awarded to Jasmine Bohlender and Salutatorian was awarded to Corlee Priestly.

For the full story SUBSCRIBE to the online edition of The Dalhart Texan, call (806) 244-4511 to setup a subscription to our physical paper or pick a copy up at one of our many convenient news rack locations. You can also stop by and purchase a paper or subscription in person at our news office located at 410 Denrock Ave.